Known to the early residents as "Little Paris", Da Lat (also spelled as Dalat) is a blend of hillside rural Vietnam and European alpine town. It is the capital of Lam Dong Province, the local weather stands in contrast to the country's tropical climate. Mist covering the valleys almost year-round leads to its name "City of Eternal Spring".
Tp. Đà Lạt
Bao Dai Summer Palace was the palace of Bảo Đại, the 13th and final emperor of the Nguyễn Dynasty, which was the last ruling family of Vietnam. The palace was completed in 1938 and designed in the Art Deco style. It offers guided tours of the royal family's 25 rooms and its landscaped gardens.
Hằng Nga Guesthouse, popularly known as the “Crazy House”, is an unconventional building that resembles a giant tree, incorporating sculptured design elements representing natural forms such as animals, mushrooms, spider webs and caves. The five-storey-high guesthouse has generated a great deal of attention and controversy since its inception. It is now open as a tourist site as well as a guesthouse.
The St. Nicholas Cathedral is a Roman Catholic cathedral, seat of the diocese of Da Lat. The building was built as a Catholic parish by the French in 1931 in an eclectic style Romanesque, but the interior was not completed until 1942. It replaces an old church built in 1917 with modifications in the chancel.
Dalat Railway Station was designed in 1932 by French architects and opened in 1938. Largely unused since abandonment of the railway during the later years of the Vietnam War, it was returned to a limited level of service in the 1990s. It is notable for its unique architectural style, which incorporates an overall Art Deco theme with elements of native Cao Nguyen communal houses from Vietnam's Central Highlands. The station's unique design earned it recognition as a national historical monument in 2001.
Tp. Đà Lạt, Lâm Đồng
Built in 1952, Linh Phuoc Pagoda is a unique temple featuring a 49-meter-long dragon that is made of 12,000 beer bottles. It is considered a special architectural mosaic of Da Lat city. The main hall features 2 rows of cobblestone mosaics. On top of it are many mosaic bas-reliefs featuring the history of Shakyamuni and the histories of the Lotus Sutras.
The Domaine de Marie (Dominion of Mary) is a Catholic convent. The church's history goes back to its initial construction in 1940 and is French and Vietnamese style of architecture. The walls are made of pink limestome. The church features stained-glass windows and a large 3-metre statue of the Virgin Mary standing upon a globe of the world.
Trúc Lâm Temple is a Zen Buddhist temple located on a plateau at approximately 1300 metres above sea level, overlooking Benhuit mountain and the wide expanse of Tuyền Lâm Lake. The quarters open to public consist of a ceremonial hall, a rose garden and an artificial lake. The statue in the main ceremonial hall is Gautama Buddha seated on a lotus.
Elephant Waterfalls is a waterfall located about 25 km from Da Lat on the Cam Ly River. The falls are described as one of the most beautiful of the Central Highlands. A path with steps carved out into the rocks leads to the foot of the falls. Bats roam around the area, where they inhabit a cave under the waterfalls.